Tony Ravell

Go to Backoffice

Accessibility links

Tony Ravell


My job:

I provide civil design and site engineering services for a range of local, state and federal infrastructure projects. Structures, buildings, roads and bridges are all on my project list. I have been given the opportunity to structurally design a number of government infrastructure projects including a library in Dysart for the Isaac Regional Council and a pedestrian bridge and related infrastructure for the future Airlie Beach Streetscape for the Whitsunday Regional Council. Currently I’m working on the construction of an overpass bridge in Gracemere.

How I got the job:

I worked for GHD during the previous summer and I heard there was an opening for a Graduate Civil Engineer in Gladstone. I called the Gladstone Office Manager directly for a chat. I then travelled to Gladstone for a face-to-face meeting. By the time I left the office it was quite clear I had secured a job with GHD.

What I enjoy most:

Civil engineering is exciting and does not become repetitive, which is great for someone like me who likes to be challenged and gets bored quite easily. I have been fortunate to have had a varied entry into civil engineering. I have enjoyed all aspects of it, including engineering design and documentation and site engineering duties for roads, bridges and various structures. "The best of both worlds" is having a job you enjoy that gives you the freedom to hang out and travel the world with your family.

Why university?

I wanted to finally have a career, not a job. It took me a long time to decide what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I worked for Telstra as a linesman/technician for 12 years before returning to university. I have always wanted to become an engineer however I wasn’t sure if I could pass some of the more complicated subjects. But I worked hard, asked a million questions and I finished with honours.

Why USC?

I have a family and I needed a degree that would fit around my life. The Bachelor of Civil Engineering required undertaking some courses externally, which suited my family and work arrangements. I was lucky that many of my classes were quite small, and I was able to get personal assistance from the teachers whenever I needed it.

Back to top


