Functions and powers of the University - University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Functions and powers of the University

Basis for authority

The institution was established under the Sunshine Coast University College Act 1994 and officially opened in 1996.

Full university powers were granted under the University of the Sunshine Coast Act 1998.

Functions of the University

The University’s functions are to:

  • provide education at university standard;
  • provide facilities for, and encourage, study and research;
  • encourage the advancement and development of knowledge, and its application to government, industry, commerce and the community;
  • provide courses of study or instruction, at levels of achievement the Council considers appropriate, to meet the needs of the community;
  • confer higher education awards;
  • disseminate knowledge and promote scholarship;
  • provide facilities and resources for the wellbeing of the University’s staff, students and other persons undertaking courses at the University;
  • exploit commercially, for the University’s benefit, a facility or resource of the University, including, for example, study, research or knowledge, or the practical application of study, research or knowledge, belonging to the University, whether alone or with someone else; and
  • perform other functions given to the University under the Act or another Act.

University powers

  1. Under the University of the Sunshine Coast Act 1998 the University has all the powers of an individual. It may, for example:
    1. enter into contracts;
    2. acquire, hold, dispose of, and deal with property;
    3. appoint agents and attorneys;
    4. engage consultants;
    5. fix charges, and other terms, for services and other facilities it supplies; and
    6. do anything else necessary or convenient to be done for its functions.
  2. Without limiting subsection (1), the University has the powers given to it under its Act or another Act.
  3. The University may exercise its powers inside and outside Queensland.
  4. Without limiting subsection (3), the University may exercise its powers outside Australia.